Returning at last

2 February 2011 at 9:57 pm 1 comment

So, I never pulled the plug on this blog, because in the back of my mind, I still wanted a place to post the longer-than-Facebook thoughts, to share news about our wee family or post a quick & delicious recipe when I came across one.

And now, with Baby #2 due a mere 9 days away, I’m nesting and that includes this blog. It should be pretty! Where are the photos!? What categories should I list?!

As I write, I’m propping up my sprained ankle, wondering if that was just the baby moving or another crampy contraction, and I’m trying not to laugh. Because the LAST thing I should be doing is kickstarting the blog again. But here goes.

The photos will have to wait. But for tonight, here’s a recipe that we’ve had twice in the last week and might even have again: Mark Bittman’s fried rice from this month’s Cooking Light magazine. I’m simply going to link to the recipe, but here are a few of my notes:

As you can see from some of the comments at the site, the chopping does add to the prep time (24 minutes? I’ll bet he didn’t have a two-year-old begging “Up, mama!” while mincing the garlic!). But if you prep the ingredients the night before, it does come together very quickly on a busy night.

We don’t eat pork, so I substituted chicken breasts. I used olive oil instead of peanut oil, and while we don’t usually have mirin on hand, but I had leftover sake from a previous Asian marinade recipe, and that worked just as well in a pinch. I also added at least a half cup of frozen peas about a minute before the end, stirring until they thawed (you could rinse & thaw them first, I didn’t on account of the aforementioned “Up, mama!”). I topped the finished servings with the green onion as well as a shake of sesame seed, because it sounded good.

Sofia is going through a picky-ish phase–she loves veggies, but meats are hit or miss and she often won’t have anything to do with them, but she gobbled this right up and asked for more!

So, while it may be February and not January, and while my life is about to turn upside down again with the addition of new, sweet little newborn toes, I’m back with a sort of new year’s resolution. I’d like to post once a week here, at the very least, and hopefully more.

Yes, yes, you can stop laughing now! 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Reminiscing Oh, sweet irony

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. *kate  |  3 February 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Congratulations on expecting a new baby! And, glad to see you back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

Recent Posts


