Everything, a season

3 September 2010 at 6:39 pm Leave a comment

We’ve had a busy summer, and suddenly it’s been two months since I wrote here. But today, a door closed in my life and while it’s bittersweet, I feel free. I’m excited for what’s next. I haven’t shared this here, though most of you know me outside of the blog, but we’re expecting.

Plus, on Tuesday I’ll begin a new job, and I still can’t quite get used to the fact that I will be a full-time photographer at one of the most beautiful campuses I’ve ever seen.

But tonight? Tonight I feel like it’s sink-or-swim for this blog. I’ve neglected it, often for silly reasons at times, or for very real reasons such as exhaustion after a long day at work and then chasing a silly, stubborn toddler.

It’s strange to think: I have had a blog, in some shape or form, for over ten years. And I think it’s time I take this seriously.

A couple of days ago, I rearranged my bookshelf. I was interrupted several times by my sweet Sofia, who wanted “bookies” to read. But I did get a start, lumping together the writing references, fiction writing prompts, literary works by authors I’ve had the privilege to meet, and other practical, or sentimental, categories. One of the things I want to do in the next year is write. The other is to finally resume learning Spanish–I stopped right at the point between being conversational and being able to fully read & write.

But right now? Right now it’s Friday night, and there’s a steaming cup of tea next to my feet, which are propped on the coffee table between a stack of books, a sippy cup, three remote controls (why?), and a random hand towel. My husband wisely saw “that look,” the weary, emotional face of a 17-weeks-pregnant woman who spent the better part of the week packing up an office and moving (light) boxes. And the other look we both saw: the devilish glint in our daughter’s eyes as she stirred the rest of her dinner with her hands, seconds away from throwing black beans to the floor.

And while many, many times there’s no break because you’re in this together and life is tough and days are long….tonight? My husband whisked our tired toddler out the door and gave me a moment to make a cup of tea and gather my thoughts.

So maybe I won’t write here. I’d like to. But if I can’t commit to at least a post a week (let’s face it, I’m no Pioneer Woman, nor do I wish to be), then perhaps this is time for a crossroads here. We’ll see. I think I’ll decide at the end of this month: if I’ve written here & there, then it stays. If not, then I’ll be cutting ties.

For now? I’m going to get back to that cup of tea, and wait for my toddler to run through the door with her arms outstretched, calling “Mama? Mama!”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Creative juices Reminiscing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

Recent Posts


