The home, sick, blues

2 February 2010 at 11:57 am 2 comments

I am home sick today. The house is strangely quiet, and I feel like a little mouse, so small in this space.

No matter how old I will get, I will always want my mom nearby when I’m sick.

Last week, before I got sick and when my daughter was sluggish with a fever (ahem, yes, she passed it on, so generous!), I cuddled with her while we watched mindless tv for a bit. She was so exhausted, sick of being sick, going on day three (four?) of a fever. She put her wee head on my shoulder, curled into my arms like the newborn she once was, and just cuddled.

It’s strange, still, to now be the mother. To think that when my daughter is 28, perhaps with her own family (!!) that she may be sick one day and think of me.

And it’s thoughts like that which make me strive to be a better mother. To provide comfort and nurture in our home.

But for today? Today, in order to be a good mommy & wife, I’m being good to myself. So I’m shutting the laptop and crawling back into bed for a couple of hours. But secretly, I’m wishing my mom was downstairs warming up a mug of lemon juice with honey.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

On finding time (don’t laugh) Coming up for air…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Penelope  |  2 February 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Hope you got some great rest in! I think that will always be the case–I love having my mom take care of me when I’m sick. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Valerie  |  7 February 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I hope you are feeling better by now. I have kind of been keeping tabs on Facebook.

    Yeah, I miss my mom too. I am sore and tired and overwhelmed by a newborn and a toddler. I wish my mom were here to tell me she loves me and that everything will be okay and to make me some tea. And I don’t think that longing will ever change or go away– even when my girls are grown and are desiring the same thing of me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

IMG_6311

IMG_6134

IMG_6112

IMG_6075

IMG_5481

IMG_4141

More Photos

Recent Posts


