On finding time (don’t laugh)

29 January 2010 at 6:51 pm 1 comment

I’ve been thinking a lot about finding time in the day….time to read a book when it’s not twenty minutes past when I should have gone to sleep, time to finally dust the mantle or arrange the knick knacks that were thrown out of a box when we moved in a year ago. Time to write, time to paint. Time to fix breakfast in the morning. Time to take a bath (I don’t remember when the last time this was, and I have a perfect-for-bubble-baths clawfoot tub. And yes, I’ve showered, thank you).

I know everything above is a luxury, except breakfast. But I don’t know how I could squeeze in another second to do just about any of these things. I never thought I’d be a working mom (not that you SAHMs have luxurious afternoons or anything–I realize you work longer hours than I do most of the time!). But it seems like between the morning hustle, the brief daycare-then-work routine, then whatever I can muster at the end of the day…it just is a relentless hamster wheel.

And sometimes, I just want off the hamster wheel, just for a little while. Not an escape from motherhood or marriage, but just a way to hit pause without somehow leaving anyone hanging.

I’m beginning to see the wisdom in asking for a day to myself for my birthday and might just make a habit of it. In the meantime, for the next 353 days, I want to learn how to be more efficient. How to not waste energy or duplicate efforts, with the goal of breathing a little more, of maybe, someday having a few minutes to soak in the tub with a book of poetry and actually pay attention to the words on the page.

Thanks for letting me rant. I think I just needed to get that off my chest!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New/old work… The home, sick, blues

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  29 January 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I hear you on this one. I feel like this all the time. From one of the many blogs I read I found this one and they are doing a challenge in February to help get things in order and find time. Here’s the link. I’m going to try and see how it works. I’ll have to modify for the days I work though. Good luck.
    http://inspiredtoaction.com/2010/01/welcome-to-inspired-to-action/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

Recent Posts


