Being a mother & being creative

17 December 2009 at 7:24 am 2 comments

I’ve posted about this before: the only way to be creative (paint, draw, write) is to wake up before the rest of the house stirs, climb the stairs into my attic studio, and lose myself for a few minutes. But I can still count the number of times I’ve done this on one hand, because sleep is precious, too, and I’m running on all cylinders most days.

This morning, though, I woke up and couldn’t get back to sleep. So I did it: I climbed the stairs, I dipped the brushes, I worked on a painting that’s been sitting dormant too long. I played a cassette tape (remember those?) of a radio show I did once, and the songs were as true now as they were then. Meaning, I’m still the same girl inside, just : now wife, now mother, now “grown up.” Some of the old struggles are mercifully gone. New ones have risen to take their place. Yet the songs resonate still:


this is what it’s like
finding your feet again
the part of you that couldn’t
finally thinks you can

-Denison Witmer, “Finding Your Feet Again”

Well, if I could tame all of my desires
Wait out the weather that howls in my brain
Because it seems that it’s always changing
The wind’s indecision, the sorrowful rain
I was a postcard, I was a record
I was a camera until I went blind
Now I’m riding all over this island
Looking for something to open my eyes

-Bright Eyes, “Train Underwater”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Giveaways! New/old work…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  17 December 2009 at 9:53 am

    I wish I could get up early. I’m trying so hard right now to make myself a creative space. I love that you were listening to tapes. Hope you have a good Christmas friend! Talk to you somemtime.

    Reply
  • 2. *kate  |  17 December 2009 at 6:48 pm

    What would a life without music be? I love how it speaks to us in unexpected moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

Recent Posts


