Salsa!

6 June 2009 at 6:04 pm Leave a comment

I am about to slip into my pretty turquoise dress and put a flower pin in my hair (or, not, we’ll see how I feel) and get to the theatre early to train some volunteers before we salsa the night away!!! It’s a fundraiser we’re doing at work, and I think it’s going to be a smash hit.

“The Bachelorette” is on while I’m getting ready, and it. is. making. me. MAD. Things like, letting a guy go because he’s never been in love? and kissing most of the guys in front of the other guys. Gross. And yet, it’s easy background watching.

We had to write our first babysitter instructions for tonight, which felt weird and I’m going to put the paper in our wee one’s baby book. It’s amazing how big she’s getting!!!

Last weekend I spent most of Saturday setting up my attic studio, and have only made it in there twice this week. But twice! Two different days! That’s a start. I probably won’t get any other time this weekend, but that’s ok.

Tomorrow Adeel’s friends are coming up from Charlotte, and the girlfriend owns a sweet cafe down there. So I figured a trip to the farmer’s market was appropriate today (it’s not open on Sundays). Fresh beets, sweet peaches, a pot of mint, fresh homemade goat cheese. Oh, and new potatoes! The supermarket had a special on ribeye, so there you have it: our menu will involve some or all of the above. I’m thinking beet & goat cheese ravioli with roasted garlic (if I get ambitious and have time tomorrow!) and perhaps Korean-marinated beef? Hm. That doesn’t sound like it will go together, so I may have to think about it a bit more. But I want to grill peach halves if nothing else – have you ever grilled peaches? Yum! There’s a fabulous deepening of the flavors and I just love it.

Speaking of beets; I always liked them growing up, but had only had canned, pickled beets. Last year, while I was pregnant, we would get bundles of beets in our co-op. Roasted beets are delicious!! Who knew? A simple slice, toss with olive oil & salt, then roast at 350ish for 20 minutesish. Mmm. Toss the roasted beets with goat cheese or put them over a bed of spring greens.

Alright. It’s time to finish getting ready! I can’t wait to dance!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nostalgia, or, When Blogging at Midnight…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

Recent Posts


