On juggling orange cupcakes and multiple deadlines

3 May 2009 at 9:05 pm Leave a comment

So, it’s been awhile. I went back to work three days after writing my last post. And yes, that was a month and a half ago. Is that all? two and a half months ago.

It’s been a bit of a blur: finishing our move into our lovely home, getting used to work, watching our daughter grow very nearly into a toddler. Weeks full of baby squeals (she’s oh so happy in the morning!), pumping and cleaning bottles and pumping again and cleaning bottles again, sunshine through our windows,  car trouble and health issues and more health issues, catching up on what went on in the office during maternity leave and starting numerous other projects since then, laundry and dishes and laundry and dishes…

You know how it goes. 

Yes, there’s much I haven’t taken time to write about. And of course, this weekend has been spent passing a stomach bug around our wee family, which means hubby & I have taken turns caring for baby when not sick. So here I am: sitting in a tank top & jeans, my desk covered in ginger ale, saltines & disinfectant wipes.

It’s no accident, then, that just now I hit an old bookmark button and finally finished reading an article that speaks to a bit to all of this chaos. I like the sound of her “gentle rebellion,” and think I need to keep the bookmark. Especially since I often stare at my ceiling before falling asleep, racking up the list of to-do’s back at the office, juggling the priorities and weighing the estimated time to complete them. 

(Hm. Apparently  my window of time to write has been drastically reduced–the happy squeals & coos have quickly turned to cranky fussing, though a quick time check says it’s too soon to be hunger. Maybe she’s bored. Daddy’s talking to her and that seems to be helping.) 

In the interest of time, the highlights of what I want to say: first, that I recently made some yummy orange coconut cupcakes with chocolate frosting for hubby’s birthday. Which, in the interest of time, were not homemade whatsoever, but completely from a box. Betty Crocker Orange Supreme mix, threw in a half cup of shredded coconut, and frosted with Betty Crocker milk chocolate frosting. Sprinkled some coconut on top & lit some sparkly candles. Yay. And, done.

Don’t get me wrong: when I have a minute, it’s homemade crepes with Nutella, strawberries & bananas (inspired by my favorite local cafe’s take on the Paris favorite).

But these days? Boxes are my friend. Quick & easy? Yes, please, even if it’s a recipe straight from Rachel Ray or Semi-Homemade (two of my least favorite cooking shows). Yep. We are eating a lot of pizza these days, simply because I can prep healthy toppings ahead of time & whip it together quickly when it’s time for dinner. Speaking of pizza: if anyone has a quick, preferably make-ahead recipe for pizza crust, I’d love it! 

(Hubby changed her diaper, bless his heart. She is back to happily cooing)

One of the other things I’ve been meaning to do but never get around to it is post more giveaway and/or recommended links! I have found so many fun things on other mommy blogs; it’s amazing what talent is out there, and how the internet has blown the doors wide open for stay work-at-home moms to share (and profit from!) their talents. One of my favorite blogs to catch up on is Grosgrain Fabulous (if you couldn’t tell from my previous posts!). 

Here are her latest giveaways – you put together quite the cute outfit if you won the picnic frock, a Swanki hat, and an Art Nest pincushion ring. Or for your little girl, check out this simple skirt she made! 

(In the meantime, Miss Princess has demanded her dinner and promptly fell asleep afterward. Too bad I’m too tired and have too much laundry waiting to spend much more time here…)

Finally, you have to check out this recent photo shoot by a fellow Lynchburg photographer (and she’s a work-at-home mom!). Can you say fabulous vision meets fabulous fashion?

And now, the laundry awaits. Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Serenity

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meridith on Flickr

Recent Posts


